PHTA Standards Consensus Committee Welcomes New Members

The Pool & Hot Tub Alliance (PHTA) Standards Consensus Committee (SCC) is pleased to announce the appointment of six new Voting Members. The SCC is PHTA’s official consensus voting body, responsible for reviewing and voting on all pool, spa, and hot tub standards to be approved by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). Members of the SCC are classified into one of four interest categories: Producer, User-Government, User-Consumer, or General Interest.

The SCC’s six new Voting Members are:

  • John Broughton, User-Consumer
    John Broughton is the Aquatics Operations and Maintenance Manager for Tropic Falls at OWA in Foley, AL. He has worked in the aquatics industry for more than 20 years in both operations and maintenance, and has experience in the construction and opening of major waterparks.  Broughton is both a Certified Pool & Spa Operator (CPO) and an Aquatic Facility Operator (AFO).
  • Sarah Cheshire, User-Government
    Sarah Cheshire is an Environmental Health Specialist for the Utah Department of Health and Human Services in Providence, UT. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Human Movement Services from Utah State University and is a Registered Environmental Health Scientist (REHS). Cheshire is a CPO as well as a CPO Instructor through PHTA and served as President of the Utah Environmental Health Association from 2020-2021.
  • Sung Choe, General Interest
    Sung Choe is Manager of Standards Development at IAPMO in Ontario, CA. He earned a Bachelor of Science in Microbiology from Michigan State University. Choe has extensive experience in standards and code development, as well as certifying industry equipment and products. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Council for the Model Aquatic Health Code (CMAHC).
  • Lisa Reiheld, General Interest
    Lisa Reiheld is Director, PMG Technical Resources, at the International Code Council (ICC) in Loudonville, OH. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering. One of her areas of specialization at the ICC is the International Swimming Pool and Spa Code (ISPSC), and she provides technical support and education through her participation in the ICC Plumbing, Mechanical, and Fuel Gas Group.
  • James Rumen, P.E., General Interest
    James Rumen, P.E., is the Owner of RJR Engineering Co., Inc., in Tuckerton, NJ. He is a CPO, a Master Plumber, and a Professional Engineer with 25 years of experience building and renovating commercial swimming pools. Rumen earned a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering and is a former member of both the Northeast Spa & Pool Association (NESPA) and the National Plasterers Council (NPC).
  • Stephanie Shook, User-Consumer
    Stephanie Shook is Senior Manager, Aquatics & Instructors, at American National Red Cross in Stafford, VA. She is a CPO, AFO, and Certified Parks and Recreation Professional. Shook has written articles for numerous publications and has presented at more than 25 industry conferences for organizations including the National Recreation and Park Association and National Drowning Prevention Alliance.

“I would like to give a warm welcome to the new members of the Standards Consensus Committee,” says SCC Chair Kris Bridges, MCP, CBO, CZA, Building Official/Zoning Administrator for the City of Martinsville, VA. “The SCC has a lot of important work to get done, and I believe our new members are charged and ready to tackle the challenges ahead of us. I look forward to working with this group of dedicated professionals to continue elevating the pool, spa, and hot tub industry.”

PHTA is the leading industry organization recognized by ANSI to develop and promote national consensus standards for residential and public swimming pools, hot tubs, and spas. Last year, PHTA proudly celebrated 40 years of being an ANSI Accredited Standards Developer.

For more information, please visit the Standards Consensus Committee webpage.